The primary focus of the Advanced Emergency Medical Technician is to provide basic and limited advanced emergency medical care and transportation for critical and emergent patients who access the emergency medical system.

•This individual possesses the basic knowledge and skills necessary to provide patient care and transportation.

•Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians function as part of a comprehensive EMS response, under medical oversight.

•Advanced Emergency Medical Technicians perform interventions with the basic and advanced equipment typically found on an ambulance.

•The Advanced Emergency Medical Technician is a link from the scene to the emergency health care system.




•This course is designed to instruct a student to the level of Emergency Medical Technician-Basic, formerly the EMT-Ambulance, who serves as a vital link in the chain of the health care team. It is recognized that the majority of Prehospital emergency medical care will be provided by the EMT-Basic. This includes all skills necessary for the individual to provide emergency medical care at a basic life support level with an ambulance service or other specialized service. Specifically, after successful completion of the program, the student will be capable of performing the following functions at the minimum entry level:

• Recognize the nature and seriousness of the patient’s condition or extent of injuries to assess requirements for emergency medical care;

• Administer appropriate emergency medical care based on assessment findings of the patient’s condition;

• Lift, move, position and otherwise handle the patient to minimize discomfort and prevent further injury; and,

• Perform safely and effectively the expectations of the job description.


Course Description:


•Module 1 – Foundation of EMT, Roles and Responsibilities, Basic Anatomy

•Module 2 – General Pharmacology, IV Access

•Module 3 – Patient Assessment

•Module 4 – Airway Management

•Module 5 – Shock Management, BLS (Adult, Child & Infant)

•Module 6 – Medical Emergencies

•Module 7 – Trauma Emergencies

•Module 8 – Special Patient Population

•Module 9 – EMS Operations

•Module 10 – Psychomotor Examination